Day 7 | Sian Amoy

I am interested in the intersection of everyday life and technology. What happens when what we often consider to be the mundane and monotonous details of daily life collide with the rapidly moving world of technology?

Life as we know it has evolved with the use of technology but do things remain the same, on a basic and visceral level? How have our perceptions changed with the introduction of technology into our everyday lives? Simple events such as traveling; the simple movement from ‘Point A’ to ‘Point B’ has taken on new meaning. Indeed, two people on the same train or in the same car will have unique, individual experiences. My films aim to explore these experiences.


Post Destruction Deconstruction, 2008 – TRT 3:54 mins.

As a filmmaker trained in the narrative arts, I have been educated in the craft of filmmaking and storytelling. However, my films directly contradict idea that narrative has to adhere to the formulaic in order to convey a powerful and moving story. My films do adhere to a formula of sorts, albeit in a most abstract way. I use specific elements to tell my stories but I also draw on elements of poetry and music to advance the story; rhythm, metaphor, alliteration, image and tone are all used in my films to advance the story. Traditional tools such as establishing and covering shots are incorporated to create an initial context to the space and to introduce ‘characters’ which are central to the storyline.

There is also a very distinct cadence to my films. Through editing and effects in post production, I create rhythmical patterns which are integral to the storyline and the overall unfolding of the narrative within the film. An originally composed ambient soundtrack accompanies most of my films as well. Through sound, I aim to immerse the viewer in a unique experience, one that completely envelops the viewer and is specific to what is happening on screen.

The gathering of footage is an important part of the process. The placement of the camera is integral to the process as this makes ‘characters’ of static and motionless objects. The hours of footage are then reduced to a short 3-4 minute clip, which is then edited, re-edited, and manipulated in post production to create the story and the distinct texture of what eventually will become the final short film.

Sian Amoy – San Francisco California

http://sianamoy.com

6 thoughts on “Day 7 | Sian Amoy

  1. The poor video quality and the cheap effects distracted me from the message of the video. The idea that the auteur is trying to convey is very thought-provoking but I don’t feel that this video gives a good visual image of the idea.

  2. Although I think that you have a good idea that could inspire an interesting video, I only came to the conclusion that you did after I read the artist’s statement. I also don’t like the quick transitions, the zooming in and out, and the constant perspective changes – although I realize they may speak to the message you are aiming for, they make me feel dizzy and the film feel too busy. I am also confused by the sporadic blurry areas of the video, and don’t see how they enhance the film or subject. Finally, I think that the credits go too fast to read at the end.

  3. Hard to understand the relationships between the audio and visuals. The idea in the artist statement sounds interesting, but the film doesn’t fully make its point clear. Very calming and peaceful vibe.

  4. the video leads more toward this being about the end of the world and how the world will decay once people are gone.

  5. This video is pretty cool. I really like all the visuals and the effects are cool don’t mind the haters. I think the message is kind of strange but we all are kinda strange as artists so I’m on board. I’d project this onto my band during a concert forsure. The audio is kinda funky if it was a song playing it would have kept my attention a bit more. Cool Vid Tho.

Leave a comment