Day 2 > Ella Medicus

Agreements
digital video
9:16
2022

Written and recorded in Reykjavík, Iceland, 2022.

Sound design: Óskar Þór Arngrímsson

Agreements is written from the perspective of a photon and wave of light. If you were light itself, would you be able to see? Seeing only happens when light bounces off an object and into an eye. The light photons make agreements with the objects they will come in contact with, to meet at a point, and create an image for any eyes that might be nearby to witness. 

The text was written by myself in collaboration with a bodiless entity I refer to as the subconscious or the collective consciousness of humanity. Since learning a hypnosis technique in 2019, I have been speaking to the collective, asking it questions about the nature of reality. I was curious about light- how it experiences itself and how humans could put themselves into light’s shoes for a moment. 

Lyrics:

The first time I was ever created, I traveled forever
I have never experienced a single one of those moments 
until I found the friendly eye to bounce around inside of
and give an image
I have been everywhere 
And I am everywhere 
But I can’t feel myself move
Everything that has ever been seen is because of me
But I have seen nothing
I am never alone 
I am never lonely 
Because in between the times I say hello to my friends
I don’t experience time 
A point is in time
A point is a location
A mind is a location
A point is an observation made by a mind
A mind confirms its existence 
Observations are the basis of existence 
Observation
Observation
Existence
Location
Existence
I make agreements with the atoms 
We will meet at a point
My journey is without duration
My journey lasts an eternity
I experience every moment at once
I have never experienced anything like this before

Ella Medicus’ approach to making is based in the opinion that artists exist in the liminal outskirts of society; always contemplating and reflecting on what they observe. She is primarily interested in exposing the human body as a tool or lens of perception, finding the imperfections of its functionality and comparing observations from multiple schools of thought. In 2019 she became a certified hypnotist, which developed into a practice with her collaborator, where she speaks through his vessel to the the collective subconscious of humanity. She ask it questions about physics, mythology, spirits, angels, the beginning of creation, time- many aspects of the reality. She compares the information from this being to current reports from scientists, theorists, and physicists, fueling her writing and projects. 

Ella Medicus is a visual artist and hypnotist currently living and working in Ohio. She graduated with a BFA from Alfred University in 2015, where she focused in sculpture, video, and expanded media. Since graduating she co-ran a warehouse studio and gallery in Cleveland, traveled for residencies, and continued to make work. In recent years her videos have become more lyrical, and she has made several video projections for live performances.

ellamedicus.com 

@ellamedicus (ig)

Leave a comment