Day 4 > Eduardo Yagüe

The Hero is Light, 4:23 TRT

For this video, I teamed up with the American poet and electronic literature expert Matt Mullins who provided the poem, voice and music. The poem is dedicated to the Soviet artist Eva Levina Rozengolts (1898-1975), a drawing of whose appears in the credits.

Usually in my videos I try not to illustrate the poem, but for this one I made an “exception” and I wanted to recreate some of the images from the poem, her terrible solitude and the influence that the dry branches had in Rozengolts.

Este vídeo surgió como una colaboración con el poeta, videoartista y músico estadounidense Matt Mullins, que me sugirió el poema y puso la voz y la música. El poema habla de la dura vida de la artista soviética Eva Levina Rozengolts (1898-1975), uno de cuyos dibujos aparece en los créditos.

Normalmente en mis vídeos me alejo de la simple ilustración del poema, pero para este hice una “excepción” e intenté recrear algunas de sus imágenes, su terrible soledad y la influencia que las ramas secas pudieron tener en Rozengolts.

EDUARDO YAGÜE: I studied Dramatic Arts and Spanish Language and Literature. In Madrid I worked as an actor in theater and film. Parallel I have been writing poetry and stories since I was fifteen. Currently I live in Stockholm (Sweden) where I have been developing my last video projects.

I am interested in mixing genres, searching the limits of poetic and cinematographic languages. I love working with the actors in my videos, leaving them exposed and questioning with their gaze, giving pure emotions, I love suggested stories with an open reading, all with the base of touching and intense poems.

My works and collaborations have been screened at videoart and videopoetry festivals in Spain, Holland, Belgium, USA, Germany, Australia, Canada, Greece and Portugal.

Busco conexiones entre el lenguaje poético y cinematográfico, experimento mezclando géneros artísticos, juego con la fotografía, los textos, la música, la actuación, los sonidos. Mis vídeos se caracterizan por el protagonismo de los actores y el uso de poemas generalmente breves y de intenso contenido emocional.

Mis trabajos y colaboraciones se han proyectado en festivales y muestras de videopoesía y videoarte en España, Holanda, Bélgica, Estados Unidos, Alemania, Australia, Canadá, Grecia y Portugal.

http://eduardoyague.wixsite.com/videopoetry

Leave a comment