Day 15 > Keaton Fox

We played a game once where everyone had to write down a word to describe someone else in the room. After everyone wrote down their word, they were all put into a hat and everyone guessed which person matched which word. The unanimous word that was chosen to define me was ‘sunshine’.

The majority of my life has been a daze of happiness, carelessness, and optimism. There were some days when I would realize this, but I mainly thought that was just how things were meant to be. It was just recently that I started to question the immense joy that seemed to lead my, and only my, existence.

I had never known anyone to die, I had a close and healthy family, and I had the greatest friends one could hope for. But that all changed. As everything eventually does.

That change is what I have and continue to struggle with, and is the focal point for most of my work. Change in general, but more specifically, the change between childhood and the rest of one’s life. With themes surrounding the loss of main aspects like innocence, relationships, and simplicity- my work seeks to explore the meaning behind these losses and to document the process of moving on from them.

15_KeatonFox
A Robin’s Nest – TRT 2:00 mins

My name is Keaton Fox. I am twenty years old. I am a video artist. A Robin’s Nest is Editor’s Pick on videoart.net, has screened at the “Video Now” exhibition at the Everson Museum in Syracuse, NY, “Tendencies of Existence” exhibition (curated by Brittany Cardamone) at SEFF Binghamton in Binghamton, NY and is currently being broadcasted through O Art Television based in Paris, France.

Keaton Fox – Syracuse New York

Leave a comment