Day 6 | Chris Loukes

My work explores themes of impermanence, interconnectedness and the cyclical nature of existence. It reflects and compliments my practice in Soto Zen Buddhism. The video footage focuses on the everyday moment and everyday objects that tend to be ignored in the way we live our busy lives. The editing and addition of animations point to a state of being, wider and deeper than that which is on the immediate surface, and it reflects the way we create patterns and rhythms in our lives.

This refers to the transmission of the essential teaching of Shakyamuni Buddha to the present day. The soundtrack contains a manipulation of the sound of monks at Throssel Hole Buddhist Abbey singing the Ancestral Line scripture, which lists the ancestors through whom this transmission has passed.


Bloodline of the Buddhas – TRT 36:04 mins.

Loukes studied sculpture at Liverpool Art College, 1967-71, and taught art in North Walsham. Inspired by Rothko, he began to paint in 1982 and retired from teaching in 2002 to work at it full-time. I became attached to digital video on the Fine Art MA at NUCA, 2005-07. Recent exhibitions include, “Particles, particles”, Surface Gallery, Nottingham – Japan Media Arts Festival, Tokyo – Cafe Gallery Projects, London – Abstracta Cinema, Rome – Norwich Arts Centre, ”Shorts” and Bangkok Experimental Film Festival.

Chris Loukes – Norfolk UK

www.chrisloukes.co.uk

8 thoughts on “Day 6 | Chris Loukes

  1. This was a bit strange. There is no real relationship between the sound and picture. I can’t really decide if I think thats a good or bad thing but it is interesting.

  2. The audio is interesting. I don’t see how the animation connects to everyday objects and/or moments people tend to ignore, but the audio with the colors makes me want to visualize what I’m missing

  3. The sound is distracting and doesn’t seem to go with the visual in my opinion. I didn’t see the point of the film until I read the artist’s statement, and actually found it really boring and pointless, even after I read the statement. It does make me curious how it was made though, and I think would be a lot better with a different music choice that related more to the Zen Buddhism idea.

  4. This video is tight. Granted I didn’t watch all 40 minutes but it creates a cool atmosphere when the sound and video collide. Very epic, and minimilistic which I dig. These haters gotta open their minds , keep doing your thing.

  5. the flowing colors work very well with the flowing water. Curious on how some of the visual techniques were done. Motion was captured by the rhythmic pattern of both the visual and audio.

  6. the lines are reminiscent of sound waves in a way, and the red color is very evocative of anger, though the sound is calming.

Leave a comment