Day 2 | Jonas Nilsson

How do we know precisely what constitutes “normality” or mental illness? Conventional wisdom suggests that specially trained professionals have the ability to make reasonably accurate diagnoses.

What is — or is not — “normal” may have much to do with the labels that are applied to people in particular settings.

Sometimes people are ashamed to something they did at some insane time of life.
Maybe insane is a little strong. But there are stages, when a person is less in control, has less desire to be disciplined, has no incentive for discipline. When a person does things that a person in their right mind would never do.


The Looney Room – TRT 2:50 mins.

I am an artist who works with contemporary art there moving image is my major way of expression. I was born 1964 in Sweden there I went to a couple of art schools before I took my MFA degree in the year 2000 at Norwich School of Art & Design, UK.

I am currently interested in issues surrounding the stressful and high tempo of the western way of life and increasing amounts of time and money spent by individuals on becoming successful, and the consequences of such achievements. I often relate my work to a dark dystopian and/or melancholic places or landscapes, both in an inner-world and outer-world.

My works have mainly been shown at videoscreenings and video art festivals in Europe, north America, and in China and Taiwan.

I am the co-founder and curator of art:screen which is an international event and platform focusing on video art. 2012 art:screen will be the head co-ordinator for art:screen fest, a festival where the main concept is to invite curators from different video art events and video art festivals from around the world to curate screening programmes, and to be an international platform for networking and co-operation possibilities between curators.

Jonas Nilsson – Örebro Sweden

www.jonasnilsson.org

14 thoughts on “Day 2 | Jonas Nilsson

  1. Interesting perspective. Not sure if I fully understand the relationship between the dialogue and the point of view (a bee) in which the piece was shot.

  2. I enjoyed the visual representation of insanity. I felt like a fly, a fly that is trapped and can’t find it’s way out of the brush. Which can lead to insanity. I defiantly got what you were trying to say, I would almost like to hear less talking and more noise, with that I feel like the viewer would then feel that insanity you are trying to portray.

  3. Intriguing idea. The way it was filmed makes it feel bug-like. The high pitched voice felt rather cliche buy got the job done. Great vid!

  4. The voice was haunting; mostly due to the things it says. But I feel that the pitch of it could make it sound too comical, leaving me to question whether this was intentionally funny or not. Either way, I enjoyed it.

  5. i like this video, it makes me have a different view on the way i think about art! I love the gloomy setting of the field. I feel like it helps the viewer focus on the voice and what the narrator is saying.

  6. The field of flowers feels to me like a dream of that “happy” place the narrator is talking about. It is pretty but it is a maize of a continual world, that is actually very overwhelming. I enjoy the distortion in the voice and how its discomfort plays with the visually appealing images on the screen.

  7. I thought the audio went well with the treatment of the imagery to produce a feeling of something not being right, of having a perspective on the world that is not normal. The repetition of the line “they’re going to take me away” helped to emphasize the idea of of how society deals with the mentally ill. We do need to question our practices concerning the mentally ill. Institutionalizing people who are not normal is certainly an outdated practice that should only be used for the violently mental ill.

  8. The language reminded me of Vincent Van Gogh’s letters. I think the voice might be a little too distorted though. It reminds me of something electronically altered, and I think insanity is not something that is necessarily artificial.

  9. It seems like a very honest and sane form of insanity. A self awareness of the narrator’s own insanity. I don’t know how I feel about the high voice. The distortion helps drive home the idea of insanity, but I wonder how it would sound normal.

  10. strange video. really cool audio track that was designed. the progression of the walk or transition through the forest is somewhat disorienting with the change in level plains of view. the filter used on the video almost bleaches out the colors and makes it look somewhat dated.

  11. Very interesting piece. The sound caught me off guard at first, and made me a little standoffish. I finally warmed up to the voice as I listened closer, and realized the content. Then I feel like it fit more than I thought originally.

  12. I agree with Leo, the computerized voice is so strong you almost think its overpowering because, visually, the flowers are so tranquil and natural. But when I read the artists statement, I began to see the actual message.

Leave a comment